AGENDA

Committee LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

Date and Time of Meeting

THURSDAY, 12 JANUARY 2017, 5.00 PM

Venue COMMITTEE ROOM 1 - COUNTY HALL

Membership Councillor Merry (Chair)

Councillors Bowden, Chaundy, Hinchey, Hunt, Phillips and Dianne Rees

1 Apologies

To receive apologies for absence.

2 Declarations of Interest

To receive declarations of interest.

Minutes (*Pages 1 - 4*)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 8 November 2016.

- 4 Local Authority School Governor Vacancies List (Pages 5 6)
- 5 Exclusion of the Public

Information included in the following item is not for publication by virtue of Paragraph 12 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

- Nominations to Local Authority School Governor Vacancies (Pages 7 202)
- 7 Date of Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 2 March 2016.

Davina Fiore
Director Governance & Legal Services

Date: Friday, 6 January 2017

Contact: Andrea Redmond, 02920 872434, a.redmond@cardiff.gov.uk

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

8 NOVEMBER 2016

Present: County Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

County Councillors Chaundy, Hunt, Phillips and Dianne Rees

Apologies: Councillors Bowden and Hinchey

45 : APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Bowden and Hinchey.

46 : DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Councillors Chaundy and Dianne Rees declared a prejudicial interest in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct and the Local Government Act 1972 in Item 5 on the agenda. Councillor Chaundy was a ward colleague of a Councillor seeking nomination to the Governing Body of Bryn Celyn Primary School; and Councillor Dianne Rees was a personal friend of a person seeking nomination at Ysgol Pen Y Pil. The Councillors left the meeting during consideration of these items.

47 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 14 September 2016 were approved by the Committee as a correct record and were signed by the Chairperson.

48 : PANEL RECRUITMENT PROCESS AND SELECTION CRITERIA

The Selection Criteria for Appointment as a Local Authority Governor were circulated. Members noted the selection criteria.

49 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES LIST

Members received a list of existing and future vacancies.

50 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the public be excluded from the meeting by virtue of paragraph(s)

12 of Part(s) 4 and 5 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972: (12) Information relating to a particular individual.

51 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

(Councillors Chaundy and Dianne Rees reaffirmed their declaration of interests made earlier under the Member Code of Conduct and left the meeting during consideration of the applications for schools that they had a prejudicial interest in)

The Committee considered applications received to existing and future Local Authority Governor vacancies from 18 October 2016 and assessed each application against the adopted selection criteria for the appointment and conduct and relevant information received from the Director of Education; Chair of Governors and Head teacher in relation to attendance. The Panel commended the high calibre and wide range of skills of the candidates being considered.

The Committee requested that their thanks for the efforts made by Governor Services to fill long term vacancies, particularly those in Welsh medium schools be noted.

RESOLVED – That the Council is recommended to approve the following appointments to Local Authority School Governing Bodies:

School	Ward	Start of	Nomination(s)
		Vacancy	
Glan Yr Afon Primary School	Llanrumney	13/10/2015	Les Maxim
Hawthorn Primary School	Llandaff North	10/05/2016	Steven Chadwell
2 x vacancies		26/09/2016	Paul Rock
Marlborough Primary School	Penylan	10/05/2016	Rodney Berman
Meadowlane Primary School	Trowbridge	02/09/2016	Dawn Mitchell-
			Williams
Thornhill Primary School	Llanishen	22/06/2015	Jackie Jones
Trowbridge Primary School	Trowbridge	11/02/2016	Mike Thomas
Whitchurch High School	Whitchurch	11/09/2016	Nicola Davies
Whitchurch Primary School	Whitchurch	01/09/2016	Sarah Lewis
3 x vacancies		25/10/2016	Mike Phillips
o x rasamons		25/10/2016	Nicola Davies
Ysgol Glan Morfa	Splott	29/01/2014	Anne Hughes
Ygsol Gyfun Gymraeg	Fairwater	25/09/2006	Gareth Owens
Plasmawr			
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bro	Penylan	27/01/2016	Nick Speed
Edern 2 x vacancies		27/09/2016	Gaynor Williams
Ysgol Mynydd Bychan	Gabalfa	16/12/2015	Rhys Taylor
Ysgol Pen Y Pil	Trowbridge	11/09/2013	Michael Jones
Ysgol Pen Y Groes	Pentwyn	01/09/2012	Ailsa Newton
2 x vacancies		28/09/2016	
Ysgol y Berllan Deg	Pentwyn	29/02/2016	Rhodri Asby

Future Governor Vacancies

School	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Re- appointment	Applications Received
Bryn Celyn Primary School	Pentwyn	13/12/16	Cllr Keith Hyde	
Thornhill Primary	Llanishen	01/02/17		Lynne Schofield

School	Ward	Start of	Re-	Applications
		Vacancy	appointment	Received
School				

52 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING - 12 JANUARY 2017 @ 5.00PM

The meeting terminated at 6.00 pm



Local Authority Governor Vacancies

Current Vacancies - 8 December 2016

School Name	Area	Number of Vacancies
Baden Powell Primary School	Splott	2
Bryn Hafod Primary School	Llanrumney	1
Creigiau Primary School	Creigiau	1
Danescourt Primary School	Danescourt	2
Ely and Caerau Children's Centre	Ely	1
Grangetown Nursery School	Grangetown	1
Grangetown Primary School	Grangetown	1
Hywel Dda Primary School	Ely	1
Moorland Primary School	Splott	1
Oakfield Primary School	Trowbridge	1
Pencaerau Primary School	Caerau	1
Pentrebane Primary School	Fairwater	1
Peter Lea Primary School	Fairwater	1
Pontprennau Primary School	Pontprennau	1
Radyr Primary School	Radyr	1
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	1
Rhydypenau Primary School	Cyncoed	1
Riverbank Special School	Caerau	2
St John Lloyd RC Primary School	Trowbridge	1
St Patrick's RC Primary	Grangetown	1
The Hollies School	Pentwyn	1
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	1
Willows High School	Splott	1
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	1
Woodlands High School	Caerau	2
Ysgol Glan Ceubal	Llandaff North	1
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf	Llandaff North	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Coed-Y-Gof	Fairwater	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch	2
Ysgol Gymraeg Nant Caerau	Caerau	1
Ysgol Pen Y Groes	Pentwyn	1
Ysgol Pencae	Llandaff	1

Future Vacancies

School Name	Area	Number of Vacancies
Coryton Primary School	Whitchurch	1
Fairwater Primary School	Fairwater	1
Fitzalan High School	Canton	1
Herbert Thompson Primary School	Ely	1
Lansdowne Primary School	Canton	1
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	1
Pentrebane Primary School	Fairwater	1
Radyr Comprehensive School	Radyr	1
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	1
Rhydypenau Primary School	Cyncoed	1
Springwood Primary School	Pentwyn	1

This document is available in Welsh / Mae பூddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg

St Francis RC Primary School	Ely	1
St Mellons C/W Primary School	Llanrumney	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Eirwg	Llanrumney	1
Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Canton	1
Ysgol Pwll Coch	Canton	1

The deadline for applications is 31 December 2016.

Interested in applying for a school that is not listed? Please contact Ruth Lock in Governor Support Services (Tel: 02920873760 or E-mail: Governor.Services@cardiff.gov.uk), who will advise you on other vacancies that may be available and your eligibility to apply.



